8 Man Flag Football

FROM THE MAG: The West Honors Its Legends

Illustration By : Matt Van Gorkom


The inaugural National Flag Football Hall of Fame embarks on the commencement of Legacies. While many across the Nation have received acknowledgment for their accomplishments, today begins a new era. While all sports embrace the ideal of fraternity, Flag Football is no different. The personal relationships developed, the Brotherhood, growth, and development of countless men and women have come between the lines of chalked fields. Flag Football is a National Sport that hails from the Eastern seaboard to the Pacific Ocean. Today we honor the men who etched a game into cobblestoned memories and made it legendary.

In the inaugural National Flag Football Hall of Fame induction two teams, three players, a coach, and a referee have been selected. All Selections were first ballot inductees and leave a wealth of tradition.

Houston Sleepers
The Houston Sleepers were a competitive force between the years of 1988 – 2011. The sleepers won three Texas Flag Football Association State Championships during the years of 2002, 2005 and 2007. The Sleepers were also Back -To – Back Champions of the American Football Association during the years of 2005 and 2006. The Sleepers also won titles with the Metro Competitive Flag Football Union in 2006 (Bakersfield, Ca) and 2007 (Las Vegas, Nv). The Houston Sleepers Commencement in the wake of being one of the few teams in the history of the sport to win multiple championships in a variety of styles.

The Swarm
The Swarm had one of the highest winning percentages in the history of organized competitive Adult Flag Football. At 97% The Swarm was a perennial contender while actively contending. During the Swarms competitive run, the won a list of titles.
– 6 AFA National Championships,
-2x USFTL National 8 man runner up,
-27 X Flag Football League 8 man Champions,
-10 Top Gun 5 Man National Champions,
-21 Top Gun League Championships,
-5 Goin Deep 5 Man National Champion,
-NFL Air it Out National Champion,
-10 Air it out/ Let it Fly Regional Championships,
-4 Fast Action 4 man National Champions,
-3 San Diego indoor six-man National Champions.

Greg Velasco wr – Swarm
A 25-year veteran, Greg Velasco began playing in 1992 and still currently active. A former member of the Swarm and Long Beach All-stars Velasco has a wealth of Championships to his name.

Jimi Dutra ath – Swarm
A member of the Swarm, Jimi has given 24 years of service to the game of Flag Football. Better known as “JD” Jimi began playing in 1992.

Jon King ol – Swarm / Daygo Funhouse
Mike Watson coach – Denver Gamblers
Bob Correa referee – Denver Gamblers



Facebook Comments
1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. yCfoSDo

    February 2, 2016 at 7:24 am

    34286 529660I agree completely with what you said. Wonderful Stuff. Maintain it going.. 668533

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top
%d bloggers like this: